The 38th Macra presidential election is under way and The Dealer is listening intently for any and all talk of who will throw their hat in the ring.

Candidates interested in running must submit their nominations by 3 March to Macra HQ. Ballots will be issued to clubs on 15 March and the count will take place 7 April.

The jungle drums are beating and I’m told Seán Wallace of Donoughmore Macra in Cork, John Keane of Devil’s Bit Macra in north Tipperary, Fergus O’Rourke of Carrigallen Macra in Leitrim and Daniel Long from Rathkeevin Macra in south Tipperary, will be in the race.

Meanwhile Claire Gough from Athboy Macra in Co Meath has declared she is running for Leinster vice-president, and Elaine Holohan from Kilmallock Macra, Co Limerick, and Áine McCarthy from Killeagh Macra in the Imokilly region of Cork are in contention for the Munster vice-presidential position. Luna Orofiamma from Ramor Macra in Co Cavan has put herself forward as contender for the northwest region.