The ink had barely dried on the latest deliberations of the IFA executive council when the backlash started. The surprise was where it started: Kilkenny, Galway and Limerick.

The three counties tabled motions of no confidence in the remaining executive board members last Thursday. All three are counties with former presidents (Donnelly, Dillon and Bryan), with two of them providing current regional chairs: Galway’s Tom Turley and Kilkenny’s James Murphy.