The penalty points system was introduced in the Republic of Ireland in 2002. Since its introduction, 2,278 drivers have been disqualified from driving and there are currently 227 disqualified drivers, according to the Department of Transport. Drivers have to accumulate 12 penalty points in a three-year period before they are disqualified from driving.

More that 75% of penalty points on licences in Ireland are for speeding. Speeding accounts for 90% of the total points held by licence holders in Leitrim. This is the highest percentage in the country, followed by Sligo (86%), Louth (85%) and Tipperary (83%).