Counties along the southeast and northwest coasts have been warned to brace themselves for snow and ice, set to sweep in during the night.

Met Éireann has issued a status yellow snow/ice warning for counties Carlow, Cork, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Tipperary, Wexford, Wicklow and Waterford. Donegal, Leitrim, and Sligo are also included in the warning.

It will come into effect for 12 hours starting at midnight and lasting until 12pm on Wednesday 30 December.

Met Éireann said there is risk of snow accumulations to lower levels.

Read more

Updated status red warning: how to handle snow and ice on your farm

Checking your farm is winter ready