Following the co-ops decision to reduce its shareholding in Glanbia plc in 2012, the number of people the co-op can now nominate for the plc board has reduced from 14 to 10. As 14 people sit on the board of the co-op, a vote among the co-op board members is now required. This vote took place among the co-op board members themselves on Monday.

Chair Henry Corbally and vice-chairs Martin Keane and Pat Murphy were automatically elected. The seven chosen to join the plc board are Jer Doheny, Jim Gilsenan, Vincent Gorman, Michael Keane, Matt Merrick and John Murphy.