All the latest opinion and comments on the Irish agricultural industry from the Farmers Journal editorial team.

LATEST ARTICLES
Viewpoints
Dempsey at Large: science-based approach needed
Matt Dempsey
The European Commission was able to demonstrate its commitment to and use of rigorous science as it dealt with the COVID-19 pandemic. We should expect the same in its approach to agricultural policy.
29 June 2022 Viewpoints
Home Farm: meeting terms and conditions
On the cattle side, cutting the first cut that bit later and the high cost of fertiliser has meant that we wanted to make as much use of the slurry as we could.
29 June 2022 Northern Ireland
Industry drive to get carbon audits done
The initial target for carbon audits is farms in CAFRE Business Development Groups.
Opinion: French farming shows Ireland has a good story to tell
A couple of days spent in France with a group of Irish farmers were a real eye-opener, reminding me the typical Irish farm has a lot to offer.
26 June 2022 Opinion
Colm McCarthy: dangers of a borrowing binge
Inflationary pressures and rising interest rates leave Ireland in a precarious position, writes Colm McCarthy.
22 June 2022 Viewpoints
Farmers must adjust to new cost landscape
An investment that makes the business more efficient is still a good investment.
22 June 2022 Northern Ireland
Dempsey at Large: fertilisers high on EU leaders’ radar
A shortage of nitrogen whether caused by scarcity or unaffordability will have an immediate effect on yield and supply.
22 June 2022 Viewpoints
Home Farm: time to make hay with settled weather ahead
With the last spell of good growth, covers are too high in the paddocks we are turning cattle into.
22 June 2022 Viewpoints
Opinion: the centre must hold
Matthew McConaughay is right, the polarisation of politics only hurts the people in the end - farmers among them.
18 June 2022 Opinion
The good and bad with UK Brexit bill
The NI protocol needs more work, but we must not forget what we already have.
15 June 2022 Northern Ireland
Colm McCarthy: Minister Donohoe flags clouds on the economic horizon
Minister Donohoe’s speech reads like it was aimed at the cabinet and his colleagues do not seem keen to read the memo.
15 June 2022 Viewpoints
Delay in publishing report on energy security of supply
It is commonly understood that European countries may face gas rationing this coming winter and that there could also be inadequate electricity supplies.
8 June 2022 Opinion