Sign in to your account
Forgot / Reset Password? Click here
Not registered with Farmers Journal? Register now to read 5 Member articles for FREE
Or

To redeem your unique loyalty code from the print edition click HERE
Just one final step...
You must confirm your email address by clicking on the link we’ve sent to your email address.
You are only one short step away from reading...
Register below to read FIVE Member articles
for free per month.
Or to redeem your unique loyalty code
from the print edition click HERE
Only takes a second!
Already registered with Farmers Journal? Sign in
By registering an account you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
By registering an account with us you will also be subscribed to our email newsletter list. You can unsubscribe anytime.
code

Editorial Opinion and Comments

All the latest opinion and comments on the Irish agricultural industry from the Farmers Journal editorial team.
Charlie's Corner: surprise quadruplet lambs and a busy holiday
Charlie Hackett is a 14-year-old student from Co Offaly and he lives on the farm with his parents Pippa and Mark.
By Contributor on 12 April 2018
Maybe it will all turn out all right on the day but we should at least have contingency plans in place.
By Matt Dempsey on 12 April 2018
While we will have still a buffer of silage to cope with normal demand, I hope we will not go short.
By Matt Dempsey on 12 April 2018
In this week's legal query, solicitor Aisling Meehan looks at whether the Department of Agriculture can suspend farm inspections during the ongoing fodder crisis.
By Aisling Meehan on 09 April 2018
People use the land-bridge because it suits them and they conduct import and export trade with the UK rather than the continent for the same reason.
By Colm McCarthy on 11 April 2018
Pat O’Toole reflects on how farmers are responding to the enormous challenge posed by the current fodder shortage.
By Pat O'Toole on 07 April 2018
The EU ban on hormone beef imports has been a long-running controversy and Australia has now joined the US in making it a red line issue for a trade deal with the UK after Brexit, writes Phelim O'Neil
By Phelim O'Neill on 05 April 2018
What we are in effect seeing is greatly enhanced productivity by Irish farmers but more to the point, a huge reliance on one-man farms with some family labour.
By Matt Dempsey on 05 April 2018
There are sections of the grass fields that have received no slurry at all this year or fertiliser and have a hungry brown appearance. Even on the fertilised ground, growth is almost non-existent.
By Matt Dempsey on 05 April 2018
If Ireland never produced a single extra tonne of carbon dioxide the fate of the planet would be unaffected.
By Colm McCarthy on 04 April 2018
Future Scottish agriculture policy will be made in Edinburgh and Westminister, but the farming versus environment debate will continue.
By Phelim O'Neill on 29 March 2018
Because Irish agriculture is so bovine-based, we are uniquely exposed to policy developments in this area.
By Matt Dempsey on 29 March 2018
At Capper Trading Animal Feeds we have developed a number of highly competitive ...
Silage+haylage top quality reduction for large amount bought 100+ bales ...

Twitter
Get full unlimited access to our content. Subscribe to the Irish Farmers Journal
Unlimited access to Irish Farmers Journal via your computer, mobile device, tablet or newspaper delivered to your door.
Already a subscriber? Sign in