Sign in to your account
Forgot / Reset Password? Click here
Not registered with Farmers Journal? Register now to read 5 Member articles for FREE
Or

To redeem your unique loyalty code from the print edition click HERE
Just one final step...
You must confirm your email address by clicking on the link we’ve sent to your email address.
You are only one short step away from reading...
Register below to read FIVE Member articles
for free per month.
Or to redeem your unique loyalty code
from the print edition click HERE
Only takes a second!
Already registered with Farmers Journal? Sign in
By registering an account you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
code

Editorial Opinion and Comments

All the latest opinion and comments on the Irish agricultural industry from the Farmers Journal editorial team.
With a four-wheel-drive tractor, fitted with wide tyres and a slurry tanker with low-ground-pressure tyres, I was amazed at the total absence of damage to the land.
By Matt Dempsey on 18 January 2018
Pie in the sky? Perhaps, but most of the basics are already in place.
By Matt Dempsey on 11 January 2018
Dublin city is the area with the lowest car ownership in Ireland and Tipperary one of the highest. Both Dublin city and Tipperary residents can afford cars but Tipperary residents need them.
By Colm McCarthy on 10 January 2018
Statutory policy options could be developed at EU level as the gaps between EU and world quality standards widen despite booming exports.
By Matt Dempsey on 04 January 2018
The deal with Canada, if simply transposed as the new long-term trading arrangement between the UK and the EU, would close the Irish border.
By Colm McCarthy on 03 January 2018
The loss of live trade is having a major impact on suckler farmers, particularly in the west of the county.
By Justin McCarthy on 28 December 2017
Broadly, I agree with the Teagasc review that it was a better year than 2016 for a tillage and beef system, but the returns were nowhere near those of dairying.
By Matt Dempsey on 21 December 2017
There is a mountain of work to be done. The Irish issue may appear to be solved and from the Irish Government's insistence on not having a hard border it is.
By Matt Dempsey on 26 December 2017
The planning system is not in need of overhaul. It is the wrong approach and needs to be scrapped.
By Colm McCarthy on 28 December 2017
Nobody is disputing that carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases are causing some global warming – the key question is how much and to what effect.
By Matt Dempsey on 19 December 2017
The UK has three agreements to negotiate in order to make Brexit a reality, the withdrawal agreement, the transition agreement and the trade agreement.
By Colm McCarthy on 13 December 2017
All eyes on what happens in the margins of the WTO conference on an EU-Mercosur trade deal.
By Phelim O'Neill on 10 December 2017
Huge labour savings, fully galvanised. Heavy duty construction...

Twitter
Get full unlimited access to our content. Subscribe to the Irish Farmers Journal
Unlimited access to Irish Farmers Journal via your computer, mobile device, tablet or newspaper delivered to your door.
Already a subscriber? Sign in