Your votes on decided two of the most important awards given live on RTÉ One television. You chose Wagon Wheel as the all-time favourite country song and Mike Denver was elected Entertainer the year.

Read back over our archived live blog below to discover all the winners and watch exclusive backstage interviews.


And the winner is… Mike Denver! We had a chat with him earlier today:


Now for the artist you chose as the Entertainer of the year. The Irish Farmers Journal's Mairead Lavery is going to present the award.

The nominees are:

Derek Ryan

Nathan Carter

Mike Denver

Jimmy Buckley


Meanwhile, at home...


And your all-time favourite country song is Wagon Wheel! Who else but Nathan Carter to sing it now... in a duet with Daniel O'Donnell. This one is going viral tonight.


Now for Newcomer of the year, and the winner is: Cliona Hagan! whe was up against Shane Owens, Jordan Mogey, Barry Kirwin and Niamh Lynn.


50 years on the stage: the queen of country music Philomena Begley receives the lifetime achievement award. Another Co Tyrone star who drew inspiration from Philomena is Cliona Hagan:


We're now about to give the first lifetime achievement award.


And the winner is... Jimmy Buckley! Pictured on the red carpet with our own Mairead Lavery:


Nuala Carey is in the house to forecast who is the Male artist of the year among:

Nathan Carter

John Mc Nicholl

Jimmy Buckley

Gerry Guthrie

Derek Ryan


Big Tom's name is the first inscribed to the RTÉ Irish Country Music Awards Hall of Fame.


Unelss you're related to him of course... Like Johnny Brady:


Earlier today Big Tom gave an exclusive 10-minute interview to Michael Commins. You'll never get to spend so much time chatting with this giant of country music anywhere else.


And now a special award is being introduced for a big Monaghan star... Big Tom. Warm tributes for the "gentle giant" and his love of farming.


And the Album winner is... Mike Denver's "Cut Loose".

He was up against Nathan Carter (Stayin’ Up All Night), Lee Matthews (It’s A Great Day To Be Alive) and Lisa McHugh (Wildfire)

Derek Ryan (One Good Night)


From Jimmi Buckley to TR Dallas, who is presenting the Album of the year award. And we have them pictured together:


While we're backstage with Michael, let's also catch up with Lisa McHugh who's just won Female artist of the year. She said moving here from Galsgow was the best decision she made in her life.


And here is another nominee for Entertainer of the year: Jimmy Buckley. Earlier Jimmy sat down with Michael Commins for a backstage interview:


The next award is for Songwriter of the year... and that's Derek Ryan! Derek is also nominated for Entertainer of the year, so any of ye who voted for him will be happy to see he's already bagged an award.


Patience Daryl, for the moment Nathan Carter is on stage.


And the winner is Robert Mizzell! According to Daniel O'Donnell, a video "you wouldn't see the likes of in Hollywood".


Now for Video of the year. The nominees are:

Áine Crehan (Gravy)

Jim Devine (You Belong To Me)

Robert Mizzell (Day Job)

Niamh McGlinchey (These Boots Are Made For Walkin')

Cliona Hagan (We're All Gonna Die Someday)


Daniel congratulating the audience for winning their tickets as loyal readers of the Irish Farmers Journal. Well deserved!


Marty Mone now playing the unbeatable machinery hit Hit the Diff! If you're a newbie here, our famous guide to understanding Hit the Diff is still available.


Our host Daniel O'Donnell is no doubt the supreme star of country music, but how well does he know his pop? Anthony Jordan subjects him to a game of Guess the Lyric.


That is:

Nathan Carter

John Mc Nicholl

Jimmy Buckley

Gerry Guthrie

Derek Ryan


Now for a treat - all nominees for Male artist of the year performing together.


And the winner is Lisa McHugh!


Now for the Female artist of the year, to be chosen between:

Lisa McHugh

Margo O’ Donnell

Philomena Begley

Louise Morrissey

Sandy Kelly


ICMA Entertainer of the year nominee Derek Ryan is now rocking the crowd!


Earlier, Nathan Carter got a bit of a grilling on his farming knowledge from the Irish Farmers Journal's Anthony Jordan...


And the winner is Nathan Carter!


Now for the first award... Live act of the year.

The nominees are:

Mike Denver

Derek Ryan

Nathan Carter

Johnny Brady

Michael English


And we're live! Tonight's host Daniel O'Donnell kicks it off with a medley of the four songs up for all-time favourite: Pretty Little Girl From Omagh, One Day At A Time Sweet Jesus, Four Country Roads and Wagon Wheel, along with may of the artists nominated tonight.

You can still vote for Ireland's all-time favourite country song among the four tunes.


Cliona Hagan...

... and Michael English - and plenty more in the gallery above!


And here are Johnny Brady, Mairead Lavery and Barry Kirwan and Nuala Carey :


There was some serious glamour on the red carpet when the starts arrived earlier. Here is Niamh Lynn:


One member of tonight's audience timed his birthday very well.


The fans are getting ready at home too...


You can cast your vote in two categories for tonight's awards - only until 10pm!

VOTE for ICMA Entertainer of the Year

VOTE for Ireland's all-time favourite country songa


There's still more than half an hour to go but RTÉ's studio is already packed with excited country music fans. All winners of our readers' competition! Someone just needs to start a tune and everyone joins the chorus.