A Westmeath farmer has scooped the top award at the annual Aurivo milk quality awards.

Aurivo has aanounced Peter Hamm from as its Aurivo milk supplier of the year 2021.

Eight Aurivo milk suppliers have been acknowledged for their contribution to dairy farming excellence at the processor’s 14th annual milk quality awards.

The top accolade was awarded to Peter Hamm for his relentless focus on sustainable farming practices.

Aurivo is very proud of its quality milk pool and committed supplier base

Hamm was recognised for his commitment to developing his conservation area for biodiversity growth on his farm as well as his attention to detail in relation to animal welfare.

Chief executive Donal Tierney said: “Aurivo is very proud of its quality milk pool and committed supplier base of almost 1,000 suppliers in both the Republic and Northern Ireland. Our farming families’ incredible commitment and dedication allows us to produce the best quality milk.”

Next generation

At home in Moate, Hamms farm has been in the family name for over one hundred and twenty years.

Previously a suckler and equine farm, Hamm converted to dairy in 2014, and today he milks 133 high EBI black and white cows on 69 hectares, with the help of his wife Caroline, daughter Kate and son Jack.

In addition, Hamm has a keen interest in providing training for students and works with the local Moate Community College and numerous agricultural colleges, training the next generation of farmers.

Hamm will now represent Aurivo in at the NDC and Kerrygold quality milk awards which sets out to find and celebrate the top milk quality farmers in Ireland.

Category winners

Award winners in seven other categories included:

  • Excellence in udder health, Bernard and Maria Brennan, Co Galway.
  • Lowest TBC liquid milk, Gerard Murphy, Co Mayo.
  • Most improved SCC, Clive Sweeney, Co Donegal.
  • Highest average milk solids, Michael and Brigid Ryan, Co Galway.
  • Best new entrant, Andrew and Charles Clarke, Co Roscommon.
  • Lowest TBC manufacturing milk, Michael Joe Dunne, Co Sligo.
  • Best Northern Ireland supplier, Brian and Stephen Gallen, Co Tyrone.