A status yellow fog warning has been issued for Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, Cavan, Longford, and Monaghan. The alert will come into effect from 4am on Sunday.

Met Éireann has warned that the fog will be widespread across the counties and may lead to impaired visibility.

The warning will remain in place until 10am on Sunday.