Heavy thundery showers or longer spells of rain on Saturday are forecast to lead to further localised flooding and hazardous driving conditions, Met Éireann has said.

It has issued a status yellow rainfall warning.

The warning is in place for 12 counties: Cavan, Donegal, Dublin, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath.

The warning is in place from 10.30 on Saturday until midnight.

A thunderstorm warning is in place for the same number of counties.