Glanbia’s board met last Friday to choose which 10 of the 14-strong co-op board to nominate for the plc board.

Co-op chair Henry Corbally and the two vice-chairs are automatically nominated. There was a change among the vice-chairs, with John Murphy of Wexford edging out Pat Murphy of Kilkenny to join Martin Keane. The remaining seven plc nominees include Pat Murphy, Patsy Ahern, Michael Keane, Vincent Gorman, Brendan Hayes, Eamon Power, and Tom Grant. Ger Doheny loses out this time, as do the three newcomers to the board.

Murphy’s election and Hayes’ return to the board mark the closing of a circle. They were two of the four board members who voiced opposition to the 2012 proposal to create the Glanbia Ingredients Ireland joint venture. Two years earlier, as nominees to the board, they both strongly opposed the Dairy Ireland proposal. All water under the bridge.

Next Saturday, there’s another Wexford/Kilkenny joust, this time in hurling. Glanbia can’t lose, as they sponsor both sides – Avonmore (Kilkenny) and Gain Animal Nutrition (Wexford).

On all things Glanbia, GII suppliers the Power family from Cappagh, Dungarvan, are hosting a farm walk next Wednesday 14 June. The Powers won the 2016 NDC/Kerrygold quality milk awards and the event will focus on the attention to detail that delivers quality. The event is signposted from the Dungarvan Ring Road and all are welcome.