Michael and Miriam Gunn from Carrowglogher, Strokestown, Co Roscommon, were crowned Aurivo milk supplier of the year at a ceremony in Sligo, the co-op announced this Tuesday.

The Gunns are also the inaugural winners of the new champions of sustainability category.

Judges singled out the 108ha farm for its focus on efficiency and sustainable farming practices.

The Gunn family will now represent Aurivo in at the NDC and Kerrygold quality milk awards later this year.

From left: Eileen Gunn, Kevin Gunn, Olivia Gunn, Aurivo milk supplier of the year, Michael Gunn, Kieran Gunn and Miriam Gunn. \ James Connolly

The other Aurivo milk quality awards category winners are:

  • Excellence in udder health: Noel and Raymond Harte, Ballyshannon, Co Donegal.
  • Lowest TBC liquid milk: Charles McCandless, Culdaff, Co Donegal.
  • Most improved SCC: Declan McManamy, Ballymote, Co Sligo.
  • Highest average milk solids: Eamon Heaney, Craughwell, Co Galway.
  • Best new entrant: Gavyn Shortall, Moate, Co Westmeath.
  • Best Northern Ireland supplier: Ian Stewart, Bushmills, Co Antrim.
  • Lowest TBC manufacturing milk Declan Lynn, Crossmolina, Co Mayo.
  • "Farming is a family affair and so I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate our eight winners, and the families that support you, who continuously raise the standards of milk production in Ireland.

    "We are looking forward to a continued successful partnership for many more years to come,” said Aurivo chair Pat Duffy.

    Read more

    Gearing up for another year of milking

    Watch: farmers star in new Kerrygold ads