The overall winner of the 2017 Teagasc/FBD Insurance student of the year award is Conor Coakley from Co Cork. Coakley did his Level 6 advanced dairy programme in Clonakilty Agricultural College. He is currently enrolled in the Teagasc professional diploma in dairy farm management and intends to establish a dairy herd on the family farm.

First runner-up

Hugh Massey from Co Limerick took home the first runner-up award. Massey completed the Teagasc Level 6 advanced dairy programme in Pallaskenry and is now co-managing the dairy herd on the family farm.

Second runner-up

Darren Walsh from Co Mayo took home the second runner-up award. He studied at Teagasc Ballina and currently combines farming with an off-farm job.

The top 15 graduates of Teagasc Level training programmes are presented with awards each year.

The other finalists were;

Debbie Sunderland, Co Wexford, Teagasc Carlow Centre.

David Lowe, Co Tipperary, Gurteen Agricultural College.

Terence Cronin, Co Cork, Teagasc Macroom Centre.

Kevin Byrne, Co Leitrim, Teagasc Manorhamilton Centre.

Damien McClearn, Co Galway, Teagasc Athenry Centre.

Gavin Canning, Co Mayo, Teagasc Ballinrobe Centre.

Tommy McLaughlin, Co Donegal, Teagasc Letterkenny Centre.

Jason Mullin, Co Galway, Mountbellew Agricultural College.

Gavin Brady, Co Cavan, Ballyhaise Agricultural College.

Brian Kelly, Co Clare, Teagasc Ennis Centre.

Barry Brady, Co Roscommon, Teagasc Longford Centre.

Bryan Lanigan, Co Kilkenny, Kildalton Agricultural College.

Speaking at the awards, Minister for Agriculture Michael Creed said: "A significant pillar of our FoodWise 2025 ambitions is ensuring that the sector has the appropriate human capital inside and outside the farm gate to deliver upon its promise. Educating and training the brightest and best young farmers is a crucial part of this approach."

Read more

Shane Fitzgerald named Teagasc/FBD student of the year 2016