Former Macra president Seán Finan has been re-elected as vice-president of the European young farmer group CEJA.

The Roscommon man has held the job for the last two years and will now do a second term in office. He is currently chief executive officer of the Irish Bioenergy Association (IrBEA).

Also re-elected was the current president of CEJA Jannes Maes.

He is from a dairy, sheep and tillage farm near Flanders, Belgium. Maes beat off competition from Iris Bouwers to retain his seat as president.

Three other vice presidents are Samuel Masse from France, Simon Wancke from Sweden and Doris Letina from Slovenia.

“This General Assembly was a good moment to reflect on the way we work. I’m happy that CEJA has received the full support of its members to continue its work for European young farmers," Jannes Maes said.

The election took place during CEJA’s General Assembly, held at Hamra Farm in Tumba, Sweden, which is CEJA sponsor DeLaval’s innovation, testing, and exhibition centre.

During the General Assembly, delegates also approved unanimously the application of the Estonian Young Farmers’ Association for observer membership of CEJA.

Read more

Farmer writes: balancing farming with a European presidency

Fears young farmers will lose out in next CAP