A status yellow thunderstorm warning has been issued for 18 counties, with scattered heavy showers forecast.

The warning affects Carlow, Cavan, Donegal, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Leitrim, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow.

Met Éireann said localised thundery downpours will give a risk of spot flooding.

The warning comes into force at 12pm on Saturday and expires at 8pm on Saturday evening.