Two candidates will battle it out to become the 38th president of Macra na Feirme.

John Keane from Co Laois, a member of Devil's Bit Macra in north Tipperary, and Daniel Long from south Tipperary are the two candidates for the role.

There will be a battle for the role of Munster vice-president with Áine McCarthy from Imokilly in Cork and Elaine Houlihan both nominated.

The elections of Leinster and North West vice-president look to be a much simpler affair, with one candidate running for each position.

Claire Gough, from Meath, is running for the Leinster role and Luna Orofiamma, from Cavan, is running for the role in the North West.

The nomination process for Macra na Feirme’s presidential and vice-presidential candidates closed on Wednesday.

Bi-annually, Macra clubs elect a new national president and three vice-presidents to represent the young farmers and rural youth organisation.


Each candidate will be profiled in the Macra na Feirme election booklet, which will be available on the Macra na Feirme website next week.

The election will take place in the Irish Farm Centre in Dublin on Wednesday 7 April and the elected candidates will take up office at the Macra AGM.

Ballot papers will be issued on Wednesday 17 March and the deadline for ballots is 1pm on 7 April.


A series of hustings will take place virtually on Zoom starting next week. Registration links will be available soon:

  • Wednesday 10 March – Leinster.
  • Friday 12 March – North West.
  • Monday 15 March – Munster.
  • Friday 19 March – Leinster.
  • Monday 22 March – North West.
  • Wednesday 24 March – Munster.
  • National president and returning officer Thomas Duffy said that election season is always an exciting time of year even if this year will be different from others.

    “Every effort will be made to ensure, despite restrictions, all members have the ability to exercise their democratic right.”