Met Éireann has warned that much of the country is set to experience a severe cold snap, with temperatures plummeting to between -2°C and -5°C.

The warning is in place from 7pm Sunday 24 January until 10am the following day.

Affected areas include, Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Leitrim, Laois, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow.

A status yellow warning is also in place for counties in Northern Ireland.

Met Éireann has also updated a status yellow warning for scattered falls of sleet, snow and hail throughout Sunday afternoon, leading to icy and hazardous conditions.

The entire country is under the status yellow warning.