Barryroe Co-op’s nominee Tadhg Hurley took home the overall award at the Carbery Milk Quality and Sustainability Awards this week.

Tadhg, farming in Barleyfield, Kilbrittain, was the overall winner. With this year's awards taking place virtually, the 16 nominated farmers and their families tuned in for an online event, broadcast by a small Carbery team from Virtual Event Studios in Cork.

Tadhg Hurley, Barryroe Co-op dairy farmer. / Don MacMonagle

Tadhg is farming on land that his grandfather Daniel bought in 1936 and his father Finbarr still milks with him.

Tadhg’s family also includes his wife Helena and their sons TJ (4) and Charlie (1).

On 90 acres, he has a herd of 74 cows, producing an average of 460kg milk solids per cow.

High standard

Carbery CEO Jason Hawkins said: “Every year, I am impressed by the standard of the finalists in the milk quality awards and this year is no exception.

"I think we have to acknowledge that this has been a particularly challenging year for everyone, including farmers. For our nominees to have achieved excellence in these circumstances is something to be very proud of.

"Carbery are leaders in quality and sustainability and it is critical that we selfishly protect this reputation. Our farmers, and the standard of milk they produce, are central to that success and celebrating the farmers who achieve these standards are what the awards are all about.”

Carbery Group chair TJ Sullivan added: “As a farmer myself, I know first-hand the enjoyment and satisfaction that comes from farming, but also the challenges that it can bring.

"A farmer’s life can be a lonely one and for all the effort put into farming, often no one else sees the hard work and the long hours.

"This is why, for me, the Milk Quality and Sustainability Awards are one of the most important things that Carbery does.”

Carbery Group processed 567 million litres of milk in 2019 to produce awardwinning cheeses and food ingredients in Ballineen, which were sold in over 50 international markets across the world.

The full list of nominees and winners from the event is below.

Bandon Co-op

  • Kieran Cotter, Ardcloyne, Kinsale - winner.
  • Scott Kingston, Laragh, Bandon.
  • Evan Shorten, Bengour East, Newcestown.
  • John O’Donoghue, Peafield, Ballinadee – Sustainability winner.
  • Barryroe Co-op

  • Tadgh Hurley, Barleyfield, Kilbrittain – winner.
  • Jeremiah and Gerard Moloney, Clonbouig, Kilbrittain.
  • James Sexton, Carrahevern, Lislevane.
  • Eoin Hayes, Lispatrick, Old Head – Sustainability winner.
  • Drinagh Co-op

  • William Kingston, Tooreen, Skibbereen.
  • John O’Regan, Kilbronogue, Schull - winner.
  • Anthony O’Shea, Gouree Beg, Bantry.
  • Tim O’Mahony, Cooladreen, Leap - Sustainability winner.
  • Lisavaird Co-op

  • Gerard Collins, Castleventry, Clonakilty.
  • James McCarthy, Carrigfada, Rosscarbery - winner.
  • Tim O’Leary, Lisselane, Clonakilty.
  • Caroline Walsh, Crohane, Ballinascarthy - Sustainability winner.
  • Read more

    Fonterra strengthens milk price forecast

    Dairy Day: watch back - farm tours, building advice and grass management