The Galway Beef Plan committee and Beef Plan co-chairs Eamon Corley and Hugh Doyle have agreed to the inclusion of Eoin Donnelly for nomination for the role of chair for the county.

The move to include Donnelly comes after the AGM was abandoned last week as a result of Donnelly’s exclusion from the election.

“The Galway committee took this decision because he is not registered with the Beef Plan Movement and had informed the committee that he was aware that there was an issue with his registration from earlier in the summer.

"The majority of the Galway committee felt that sufficient time had passed since then to have addressed the issue,” a statement from the Galway committee, Corley and Doyle said on Tuesday afternoon.

They said that Donnelly would be included “in the best interest” of Beef Plan members.


Commenting on last week’s AGM, they said that they believed the "disturbance was largely instigated by non-Beef Plan members and members from other counties”.

“As a result, only Beef Plan members registered with the Galway group will be permitted entry into the venue and photo ID will be required. We also acknowledge that Galway members, including members of the Galway committee, were also responsible for the disturbance at the meeting.

“We would kindly request that all attendees behave in a manner befitting the occasion; people who fail to do so will be asked to leave,” they said.

The Irish Farmers Journal contacted Eoin Donnelly for comment.