The Department of Agriculture has issued financial penalties to three farmers in MCPA priority areas since the beginning of 2018. The farmers breached cross compliance and pesticide controls division inspections.

Four catchment areas covering Longford central, Kilkenny city (Troyswood), Abbeyfeale and Newcastlewest in Co Limerick are priority areas for the monitoring of MCPA, the popular rush spray.