It is estimated that there are 35,000 farmers that have designated land. There are three types of designated land: Special Area of Conservation (SAC), Special Protected Area (SPA) or Natural Heritage Area (NHA).

In terms of land area, there are 1,694,743ha of SAC, 53% of which is land, 570,000ha of SPA, both marine and land, and 60,000ha of NHA, which is mostly made up of bog.