All the latest opinion and comments on the Irish agricultural industry from the Farmers Journal editorial team.

LATEST ARTICLES
News
Opinion: community comes together to fight fire, while grain issues loom
Pat O'Toole
A fire on our doorstep stops all talk of Boortmalt and contracts, but there are emerging issues to be addressed.
10 August 2022 Viewpoints
Colm McCarthy: how many sports stadiums do we need?
There is a case for some better stadiums at smaller scale, but how many? Does every GAA county (there are 32) need a stadium which will be busy for just a few days every year?
10 August 2022 Viewpoints
Dempsey at Large: measuring progress
The progress made in dairy breeding and cow productivity since the foundation of the Irish Cattle Breeding Federation has been remarkable.
Challenge to hold what output we have
Any new milk coming forward in NI might simply replace that lost as others retire out of the industry.
10 August 2022 Northern Ireland
Home Farm: Making the most of the fine weather
We barely had the oilseed rape completed with the straw chopped when I got a text saying that the specialised combine was on the way to tackle the gluten-free oats.
10 August 2022 Viewpoints
Opinion: food consumption needs as much debate as food production
I'm not sure that Sean Sherlock's idea of a Citizen's Assembly is well-timed, but any broad forum on food must look at consumption as well as production.
7 August 2022 Opinion
Dempsey at Large: placing a lid on ag output
Somewhere, important policy influencers have done humanity and Irish farmers a gross disservice.
3 August 2022 Viewpoints
Colm McCarthy: ill-designed territorial targets
Global emissions, all that matters scientifically, could be increased by imposing ill-designed territorial production targets.
3 August 2022 Viewpoints
Home Farm: change in mid stream
We still have to get this year's oilseed rape harvested. We had made good progress last week ahead of the rain but the continuous rain on Saturday meant we couldn’t attempt to go near the field.
3 August 2022 Viewpoints
Many different options for young farmers
DAERA is working on a “generational renewal programme”, although it remains unclear just what it might entail.
3 August 2022 Northern Ireland
Fairness in the food supply chain remains central to the CAP
The CAP has and will continue to serve the people of Europe in an evolving way to help meet the changing needs of society, writes European Commissioner for Agriculture Janusz Wojciechowski.
3 August 2022 Opinion
Reflections on our journey into the EU
Matt Dempsey reflects on Ireland's and farming's journey through membership of the EEC and EU.
3 August 2022 Opinion